Be the first to know… Powered by ×

Happening on

ALCATRAZZ: Exclusive Free Show !!!
Alcatrazz is a heavy metal band that was formed in Los Angeles in 1983 by Jimmy Waldo, Gary Shea (both formerly of melodic rock band New England) and Graham Bonnet (formerly of Rainbow and Michael Schenker Group).
The initial line-up was completed by the addition of young Swedish guitarist Yngwie Malmsteen, who had recently left American metal band Steeler, and former Iron Butterfly drummer Jan Uvena, who had just recently departed Alice Cooper's backing band.
It was Shea that named the band "Alcatrazz"; the misspelling of the famous prison's name deliberate. The band's debut album, 'No Parole from Rock 'n' Roll' was released in late 1983.
Waldo replaced Malmsteen with former Frank Zappa guitarist Steve Vai who Later left to join David Lee Roth's solo band in 1986.
He was replaced by guitarist Danny Johnson, who recorded what became Alcatrazz's final studio album of the 1980s, 'Dangerous Games'.
Finally, in March 2017, three-fifths of the original line-up (Waldo, Shea and Bonnet) reunited for three shows in Japan, with Conrado Pesinato and Mark Benquechea on guitar and drums respectively.
Graham Bonnet eventually quit Alcatrazz. In his place, the band recruited ex-Rainbow vocalist Doogie White
On 4 June, 2021, the first single from this new incarnation, 'Turn of the Wheel', was released. A second, 'Sword of Deliverance', followed on 23 July before the album 'V' was released on 15 October, 2021, again by Silver Lining Music. A harder-edged sound, the album also features guest contributions from drummer Nigel Glockler (Saxon), bassist Donnie Van Stavern (Riot), and a bass track from Cliff Evans (Tank). Around this time, personal issues forced Mark Benquechea to depart and drummer Larry Paterson (formerly of Chokehold and Blaze Bayley) joined the band as they made their first UK tour in support of the album at the beginning of 2022.
Following a successful European tour, the quintet recorded the band's sixth album 'Take No Prisoners' which was released on 19 May 2023 again through Silver Lining. The lead single 'Don't Get Mad Get Even', featuring guest backing vocals from Girlschool, was the first of three video singles. Now, Alcatrazz will be hitting the road, bringing their own take on classic heavy metal to as many people as possible.
Support by @Dhampyres, a 5 piece band from Gloucestershire. "Lore of the Dhampyre", Their first album, is forecast for release in late 2023.